St John the Baptist Cathedral of Yaroslavl

St John the Baptist Cathedral in Yaroslavl is located in the ancient land of Yaroslavl. It was built in 1658 as a wooden church but was destroyed in a fire in 1672. The stone church was erected late of XVII and became a sample of Yaroslavl school.

The church has fifteen onion-shape domes. The walls are covered with tiles. The asymmetry creates a picturesque archdeacon chapel from the northeast side.

The interior walls of the church were painted in 1693 by local painters. The frescoes suffered a lot in the restoration process, but some managed to save.

In the main church chapel, there is an icon of Merciful Savior. A legend tells that it used to be a fresco in the Podzelenskoy Yaroslavl tower of the Kremlin. It was demolished by Catherine the Great, and then the icon miraculously moved to the chapel.

After the Revolution, the cathedral was seriously damaged by the bombings. Since 1939 it served as a warehouse for recyclable materials. The restoration began in 1980 with returning the golden crosses of the dome. Since mid-2003, the service in St John the Baptist Cathedral of Yaroslavl has resumed.

If you would like to know more interesting facts about Russian culture and history, please visit our website here.

About Author

client-photo-1
Adnan

Comments

Leave a Reply