The Glass and Lacquer Miniature Museum of Maca in Vladimir takes on the breathtaking beauty of the old Church believers’ Trinity building. The exhibition, originally designed to combine displays of traditional arts and crafts, was presented to the public in 1974.
The Trinity Church was built in only one year, before the revolution and carried out its direct functions until 1928. Its eclectic architectural style is dominated by pseudo-Russian features. In the 1960s the church was restored, before the current museum was placed here. The church today was restored again to create a modern and comfortable exhibition area, where windows were inserted, so there is a lot of visible light in the windows.
The layout of the museum space is worthy of the highest praise. It uses asymmetrical bleachers with smooth lines and multiple levels with glass shelves that are well lit and give a multicoloured effect. The backlights are great plays on the glass and glass faces, making the saturated colors bright.
The museum exhibition consists of several parts. The first and biggest work of art is the glass and crystal. Here you can see pre-revolutionary masterpieces, but here they dominate the exhibition of the works of contemporary authors. The exhibits were made with different techniques, such as melting, cutting, and etching; it is a special and outstanding work of Goosev artists.
The locals call the Trinity Church “Red” because of the color of the brick, which was made in a typical Phillips factory.
The second part of the screen is reserved for lacquer miniatures. About a hundred kilometres from Vladimir, in the same region, is the village of Mstera. This century-old town is famous for being the centre of the picturesque miniatures from the time the fishery first disappeared (it was not so long ago between 1950 and 1960). Msterinskie masters base their work on the style of painting with local icons of the 19th century. Mstera’s miniatures usually reflect any plot from old Russian fairy tales and classic literary works, these have a colorful gold pattern around them.
The third exhibition is devoted to separate embroidery. This exhibition is placed on the second floor, where the choir church is located. These are the most outstanding works of the masters Mstera who worked in a special style, “msterinskoy iron”; today this skill has been lost. This embroidery was made with white thread on white canvas and portrayed mostly with flowers. Another style well represented at the exhibition is the embroidery of “Vladimir’s Stitch”, which is characterized by stitches made of very thick shiny thread. Such embroidery became very popular during the Soviet era.
In the temple, there is excellent acoustics, and it is used correctly. Sound can be recorded at the exhibition, and there are also choral music concerts at night.
To leave the museum, it is necessary to go to the ground floor, where the souvenir shops are located. You can buy glass and glass products, it is very nice, but quite expensive.